HomeNewsNewsEnrico Anglesio 2021 Virtual Prize Open

Enrico Anglesio 2021 Virtual Prize Open

We are again calling our young colleagues and researchers working in cancer registration and epidemiology to present your work at this year's IACR 2021 Virtual Conference and be eligible for the Enrico Anglesio Awards for 2021Applications are now being accepted:

The Enrico Anglesio Prize is awarded every year to a young cancer epidemiology researcher who has prepared an original work in the domain of epidemiology, cancer registration. From 2006 to 2020, over 160 young researchers contested, and 25 have been declared Enrico Anglesio Laureates. In 2020, with the cancellation of the in-person scientific conferences where the Prize was awarded, the Fondo Elena Moroni kept the prize going with the virtual awards. Two satellite awards, the Elvo Tempia and the Sharon Whelan, respectively offered by the Tempia Foundation and the IACR, accompanied the Enrico Anglesio main Prize. The Elvo Tempia Special Prize, offered by the Fondazione Tempia, in Biella, Italy goes to the youngest, best-scoring candidate following the EAP main prize winner.  The Sharon S Whelan Special Prize, offered by the International Association of Cancer registries, goes to the best-scoring candidate coming from a Low-Middle Income country.

For 2021, the annual meeting of the IACR will be held virtually the 12th-14th October and the Fondo Elena Moroni is organising the Enrico Anglesio awards in the same virtual format as last year.  The contest will open on 1st July 2021. From that day on, it will be possible to submit the application via the website, clicking the correspondent button.  The deadline for submitting the Application Form and the Written Dissertation (step 1) will be the 20th of August. 

The candidate must be first or only author on the submitted paper, that has not been previously published.

The 2020 awardees were:

  • Diana R Withrow, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, USA (Enrico Anglesio Main Prize)
  • Christiane Rudolph, University of Lubeck, Germany (Elvo Tempia Prize); and
  • Wilmer A Tarupi, UTE University, Quito, Ecuador (IACR Sharon Whelan Prize)


Our partners

120507 01b LOGO X3





This website was developed and is hosted at the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC)
Go to top